Monday, March 9, 2009

This Made Me Laugh, Then It Made Me Think, Then It Made Me Mad

First watch the video and then read my thoughts on the subject. Lastly, leave me a comment...I'd like to hear what you think about this video.



When I first saw this video I died laughing, not so much at the ending...kinda got too preachy. But like good comedy, it injects a few granules of truth into the punch line. However, quite a bit of it was some bull. Chris Brown is a victim? Ummm well when he gets punched in the face multiple times, bitten, threatened and are screaming for his life then maybe then I'd believe that. So now were going to blame this incident on misogynistic rap lyrics? Well let’s take it one step further...How bout we blame T-Mobile for allowing the text messages, because if Rihanna just hadn't read those texts then this whole incident could have been avoided. Absurd? We'll that's what I was thinking.

What threw me about this video is the ending...the video kind of morphed into an attack on rappers and rap lyrics. Not even a good attack, because what does Three Six Mafia winning an Oscar for "It's Hard out Here for a Pimp" have to do with Chris Brown or abuse against women. The song was for a movie about a Pimp...and thus completely appropriate. My question then becomes that aside from the Chris Brown case are these your true thoughts on hardcore, sexist rap lyrics, because if it is then kudos to you. But I am more inclined to believe that you are you using rap lyrics as a crafty ruse to divert the attention from Chris Brown's culpability.

Something very disingenuous about this video that upsets me, and at first I couldn't quite put my finger on it, but then it came to me. "You think I’m stupid or something!" Don't insult my intelligence. Did you really think that you could convince normally sound of mind, and rational thinking people into believing that Chris Brown is a victim in this scenario? But to tell you the truth, you almost got me...I'll admit it. You lulled me in the beginning with the initial comedy in the video and played on my already inherent fondness for Charlie Brown. Very clever!

So to you HATERAZZI1, a round of applause...a standing ovation. You really should be on Chris Brown's defense team, because I'm sure this very video has persuaded someone into thinking that Chris Brown IS a victim. I could only imagine the damage you could do with a jury.

4 comments:

  1. Ooh wee....I am dying at him telling her she had a connect the line weave!!! lmbo!!!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Rap don't have nothing to do with what Chris Brown did to Rihanna! Domestic Violence was around way before rap came along so don't come at me with that Bullshit! There is absolutely no way anyone can convince me that Chris Brown was a victim, not in this lifetime!

    ReplyDelete
  3. nuh uh. Thats all i got to say LOL. Chris Brown is a victim of getting a yes when he should have gotten a no.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I really do appreciate your posting this honest and realistic critique of our video. The piece was not only about Chris but young black men in general and how hip hop music has influenced them for the worst.
    Ok so lets forgive bufoons like 3 6 Mafia and Waka Flocka Flame for setting our people back a few decades. Let's just go ahead and blame Chris for being dumb. However let's not forget about the dumb girl who chose to lay up under him. Takes two to tango.
    They were young cooperators in ignorance. But they both survived and hopefully grew. Yes, Hip Hop is and it's influence is a myth. For the first time in history we will pretend that popular music has no bearing on the youth and their actions.
    This attitude is why LeBron James is a trending topic on Twitter as I type these words and nobody gives a shit about Oscar Grant.

    ReplyDelete